SEARCH FINESCALE.COM

Enter keywords or a search phrase below:

Revell Tug Boat WIP from a Nubie

13 replies
1 rating 2 rating 3 rating 4 rating 5 rating
Revell Tug Boat WIP from a Nubie
Posted by rtfoe on Tuesday, May 4, 2010 10:14 PM

Hi All,

I'm new to the Ship forum and like what I see here. I've been posting on the other sites in this forum, mainly dioramas, planes and helis. I also have a passion for ship modelling and that's why I'd like to share my WIP on the Revell Tug Boat I just completed for a local Group Build. Hope it's good enough for this post.

Something other than the military stuff I do.

The 1/108 scaled Revell Tugboat. Below is what I layed out on my worktable consisiting of parts, plans, box and a partially built hull(couldn't resist putting that together) :P

Don't know when this was manufactured but it's typicle of the old Revell judging by the odd scale. Quite a number of parts with some flash here and there.

Funny thing is the kit doesn't come with clear parts so I guess I'll have to prefab them.

Never worked with red plastic before...

Box top works as good reference for painting...also did some searching in the net and got some great schemes and weathering tips.

Surface detail slightly light but can be enhanced with some etching.

Plans are clear and definitly show no clear parts.

Lots of clean up to do on the railings.

The flat deck curved easily to the hull and was glued down with thin cement.

My busy schedule ahead will dictate the length of time needed to finish this kit.

I got side tracked with a BF-109E and did the display support and glass casing. The boat got some putty filling and sanding. Sprayed white for the funnel stripping and waterline strip.

More updates. Sprayed basic colors to the hull. Not too happy with the combination but this feeling always happens before filtering and weathering. :D

Close up of the funnel. This area will be fun to weather.