SEARCH FINESCALE.COM

Enter keywords or a search phrase below:

Next build F4U- Corsair

15 replies
1 rating 2 rating 3 rating 4 rating 5 rating
Next build F4U- Corsair
Posted by Ripcord on Thursday, May 27, 2010 10:49 PM

Hey all,  we've all seen the SBD Dauntless I posted....Im still not proud of the canopy.  Anyhow its work when waiting for paint to dry.  Im also thinking attempting stretch sprue for an antenna line even though the kit says nothing of it.  I will admit, Im a newb again so these pics are gonna be for those who are starting new or again as myself.  For everyone else Im expecting criticism....so that I can increase my skills.  My next buiild I have decided to build is the F4U Corsair 1/72 scale from testors.  Im holding off on 1/48 until I get more comfortable with airbrushing and procedures all together. 

This fuselage was no fun.  As you can tell by the giant gaps in front and behind the cockpit.  There were no alignment pins but rather entire strips that run the length of the body which would not line up at all.  It was terrible.  I cut them off!  Then clamped  and taped, now waiting for the glue to dry,

The wing is a two piece wing.  Glued and tape.  I only glued one side while the other was held in position.  When it dries I will glue the other side.  I started the prop and engine cylinder.  Now Im off to repair the Dauntless!

Mike

Posted by Scorpiomikey on Thursday, May 27, 2010 10:57 PM

Is that solid peice in photo 2 meant to be the pit? omg i knew testors was bad but i didnt think that bad. good luck man. you seem to be off to a good start considering what youve got to work with.

"I am a leaf on the wind, watch how i soar"

Recite the litanies, fire up the Gellar field, a poo storm is coming Hmm 

My signature

Check out my blog here.

Posted by Ripcord on Thursday, May 27, 2010 11:05 PM