SEARCH FINESCALE.COM

Enter keywords or a search phrase below:

Revell 1/96 Cutty Sark

200 replies
1 rating 2 rating 3 rating 4 rating 5 rating
Revell 1/96 Cutty Sark
Posted by GeoffWilkinson on Monday, June 14, 2010 12:36 PM

Hi, I'm a newbie and just about to start building the Cutty Sark. I have done a lot of research and studied many photos but I am puzzled about one thing. All the spars or yards have little 'eyes' in the middle. There is no reference to them in the instructions and, looking at old photo's of the ship, I cannot figure out what they are for. They really look clumsy and I would like to remove them. Any one got any suggestions? 

I'm trying to atach a photo here.

[View:/themes/fsm/utility/:550:0]

Posted by bondoman on Monday, June 14, 2010 12:47 PM

Hey Geoff, welcome. You'll get some real answers from others who actually know something, I have one suggestion. Do a forum search here with "Cutty Sark". This model gets discussed all the time, lots of good stuff. Great choice of model too.

Posted by GeoffWilkinson on Monday, June 14, 2010 12:50 PM

OK, I pasted the wrong bit in the Media thingy.

Posted by GeoffWilkinson on Monday, June 14, 2010 12:58 PM

I have searched the forum and read, with great interest, all the posts over the years. The one great thing I have learned is - You can always learn more. The subject has been covered extensively but I have never seen anyone raise this question. I am taking this build very cautiously!

Posted by Grem56 on Monday, June 14, 2010 1:35 PM

Take a look at this build:

If you zoom in you will see a chain sling attached to the eyes you refer to. This keeps the yard horizontal instead of hanging down from the support.

cheers,

Julian Geeked

illegal immigrants have always been a problem in the United States. Ask any Indian.....................

Italeri S-100: http://cs.finescale.com/FSMCS/forums/t/112607.aspx?PageIndex=1

Isu-152: http://cs.finescale.com/FSMCS/forums/t/116521.aspx?PageIndex=1